Oregon, My Memories: Part I

I lived a pretty good share of my life in Oregon. Sharing a few memories is how I would like to introduce myself today to the Covey View Blog. I am not a true Southern, nope. I have lived here now over half my life, for some that would make you a Southern Lady through and through, not a Southern Bell.

 

I grew up in a beautiful state and a very tiny town. You know those towns they say if you blink you miss it. You got it right, that’s the kind of place I grew up. We had all that we could ask for though, the mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. We had perfect peace and beauty all year round.

 

 

Salt was obtained by boiling sea water ‘day and night’ in kettles placed on an oven built of stones and fueled by trees and wood debris along the shore.

Salt was obtained by boiling sea water ‘day and night’ in kettles placed on an oven built of stones and fueled by trees and wood debris along the shore.

Seaside, Oregon was a quant town of just under 6,000 people. A feature we visited often while living there was The Salt Cairns. The Salt Cairns are about 15 miles SW of Fort Clatsop. Clark directed men to set up 5 kittles and start cooking ‘Salt Water’ down to make salt to help season and preserve food. When I lived in Seaside in the 80’s The Salt Cairns were free to play around and visit any time, day or night. Thankfully now they are part of the National Park Service.

In 1955 the Seaside, Oregon Lions Club built a replica of the Salt Cairn on the site. The site was transferred to the National Park Service and added to Fort Clatsop National Memorial in November 1978.

In 1955 the Seaside, Oregon Lions Club built a replica of the Salt Cairn on the site. The site was transferred to the National Park Service and added to Fort Clatsop National Memorial in November 1978.

 

In the 80’s the ‘strip’ as we called it, Broadway, was much different than now. There were shops like The Crystal Shop. They had all kinds of blown glass, cut glass, precious stone and crystal items you could imagine. What sticks out most in my memory from this shop is Blown Glass Roses I got for Christmas/Birthday one year, gorgeous! Unfortunately the stems broke about four years later, bummed…

 

Established in 1961, the Pig ‘N Pancake offers 35 varieties of breakfast (including homemade pancakes) served anytime! Or try our delicious soups, chowder, steaks, seafood, pasta dishes and incredible desserts.

Established in 1961, the Pig ‘N Pancake offers 35 varieties of breakfast (including homemade pancakes) served anytime! Or try our delicious soups, chowder, steaks, seafood, pasta dishes and incredible desserts.

Although we only ate at Pig-n-Pancake a few times this restaurant really holds a place in my entire families heart. Being a ‘Home Missions’ family we didn’t have a lot of money, when we got to go out to eat it was nearly a miracle the first few years of living there. Eating at the Pig-n-Pancake was super special. I think we ate there probably five times in the ten years we lived in Seaside.

 

Find out why we are voted  "Locals Choice" year after year! Quality Pizza in a Family Atmosphere Since 1979~

Find out why we are voted “Locals Choice”
year after year!
Quality Pizza in a Family Atmosphere Since 1979~

Pizza Harbor, now that was our haunt. The owner of this pizza place was the sweetest kindest man we ever met. We went to his place after church or youth nights. On several occasions he would tell us ‘you buy the Pizza I’ll provide the pop’. After about a year or two he told my dad that any time we came in the pop was on him if we bought Pizza. As a kid that was the best thing you could hear from a person, kids can really down some pop! Of course we were instructed to never take advantage of a kind hearted person. We were always respectful of him and his thoughtfulness.

 

I can still remember the Arcade Games over by the restrooms. Pac Man, the sit down version, Pin Ball, I never have been good at that game and of course I cannot forget Street Fighter! My best friend and I played this game by the hours. He was good; when he got started he could just go for a long time. As a young teenager I was enthralled by the game and the kicking and punching. The stretchy man was extremely interesting to me. I always thought logically about things and couldn’t understand the character.

 

MUST HAVES: Caramel corn is second to none, Cheese Corn, Fudge, Nut Brittles, Chocolate covered Molasses Puffs, Lemon Peanut Butter and Chocolote Peanut Butter Taffy. Just a  Unique over all old Fashion vibe!

MUST HAVES: Caramel corn is second to none, Cheese Corn, Fudge, Nut Brittles, Chocolate covered Molasses Puffs, Lemon Peanut Butter and Chocolote Peanut Butter Taffy. Just a Unique over all old Fashion vibe!

I am sure a lot of you, maybe all of you have had Taffy. We had Phillips Candy Kitchen, they made their own Salt Water Taffy. We could stand outside the store and watch them pull the taffy. The best time to buy it was fresh; right after it had been pulled, wrapped and thrown in the bins. It was still warm and oh so soft. I am telling you it melted right down and you hardly had to chew it. Okay, my mouth is watering here at the memory! Yum!!

 

Interesting fact about Phillips Candy Kitchen: The wife of the owner is CEO and Executive Director of the National Association of Miss America State Pageant.  We found this really interesting when we lived in Seaside, the woman acts like an everyday person yet lives an exotic life. I remember one year helping my mother clean Dana’s house to get ready for a Christmas party, their house was not huge, nice though and a perfect view of the ocean. When we walked in we looked up and up at this twenty foot tall Christmas tree. I had never seen a tree inside that big in my life, huge just huge! Wow!

 

I have taken you on a small tour of my little hometown. Keep an eye out for more. Seaside is a beautiful place and the cities surrounding it are full of history. I hope soon to bring you a part II and give you some of the historical side of the area.

 

By Live2Laugh4Love

6 thoughts on “Oregon, My Memories: Part I

  1. Pingback: Oregon: My Memories Part I | Live Laugh Love

  2. Pingback: Oregon, My Memories Part II | Covey View

Leave a Reply

