An Afternoon at Chicago’s Daley Plaza

Image

Saturday, June 21st was Make Music Chicago. What started as a celebration of music on the longest day of the year, back in Paris in 1982 has spread to cities all over the world, making its way to Chicago in 2011. Make Music Chicago consists of performances from musicians of all ages and skill level in locations across the city. My son was asked to be part of a group who performed at Daley Plaza.

Image

Daley Plaza is graced with The Picasso, one of the most well-known landmarks in Chicago. This sculpture by Pablo Picasso was dedicated in 1967. It stands 50 feet tall and weighs 162 tons! It’s popular for kids to slide down, as well as skateboarders (when security guards aren’t present). It has appeared in may movies, including The Blues Brothers, The Fugitive and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

In addition to the sculpture there is a fountain, which bubbles merrily at ground level, often changing colors to celebrate a holiday or a sports’ team championship win. It is a popular location for a variety of events, including a farmer’s market and a bike rally this month. It’s also a great place to people-watch, which is what we did while waiting for our son’s group to perform.

I got such a kick out of watching these 2 little twin girls playing in the plaza. Their joy of life showed in their laughter and playful spirits. There was a protester- on a hunger strike. It was interesting to watch peoples’ reactions upon seeing him. He wasn’t asking for anything. Just to make his statement. He was left alone, although at one point he was part of a family’s photo.

The music was awesome! Instead of sitting in the “stage” area, this group chose to spread out around the space, including the Picasso, where two trumpet players stood.

Stopping by the plaza is one of the endless things you can do when visiting Chicago.

6 thoughts on “An Afternoon at Chicago’s Daley Plaza

  1. Sounds like a great place to spend some time:) It hits me how many things there are to see and do in this world. And also how much of it that actually can be found near home, with a bit of creativity.

    Like

  2. Kat, I visited that square in 2006. I had one day in Chicago and I took the skyscraper tour (because we have none in my hometown) that departed from the Archicentre. We walked through the square. I was impressed by the Picasso – I also remember that nearby there was a stunning Mural? by Chagall? Does that seem right? In my memory it was very close to the Picasso. So many standout memories from that day. One extra special thing: My glasses broke and I took them into an optometrist – he repaired them at no cost! I’d happily return to Chicago – I loved it.

    Like

  3. Kat, I went on an overseas trip a few years back and met two ladies who used to live in Chicago and said it was a fabulous place. The square looks great and I’m glad that the kids are having fun on the Picasso sculpture! 🙂

    Like

    • It’s a very cool place to live near. I’m always finding out something I didn’t know, seeing new places and of course, I love visiting all the places I’ve been going to since I was a child.

      Like

Leave a Reply

