South of the Border: America’s Favorite Roadside Oasis

greatsnaps, goodtimes and me

Located just south of the North Carolina border is a wonderful, kitschy tourist trap known as South of the Border. This tacky, delightful, slightly run down destination has caused millions of children to beg their parents to stop each year to see Pedro and all of the sights.

From the highway, travelers can see brightly colored signs, a water tower topped with a large, colorful sombrero, and a 97-foot tall statue of Pedro. There are over 175 signs lining the highways in North and South Carolina, cleverly and definitely cheesily, advertising this destination. Parents often hope their kids will be asleep or absorbed in a movie as they speed by. I know my parents did!

The first time I went to South of the Border was after I was married! My parents were the ones who never would stop. I’ll have to say, I was a bit underwhelmed once I got there…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

