Picking Time

black ber

Blackberry time is early summer in the south. Requirements to go picking are insect repellant, a bucket, long sleeves, long pants and socks and shoes. I know from experience when I go picking to thoroughly apply repellant over my body, especially around my ankles, wrist and waist. The delightful chigger is my enemy.
chig
His “kiss” can make me itch and scratch till I bleed. Ah, but friend the berries are worth it.

bl bu

In Tennessee when I was younger we went to the woods to pick. On Brindley Mt., Alabama I grew cultivated blackberries on a fence. I prefer the cultivated, fewer seeds and much larger fruit. While I lived with my son in California we had a local farmer’s market that sold beautiful blackberries. It was here that I experimented with adding them to my Southern style biscuits.

Ingredients
1 c flour
1/4 c butter or shortening
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. sugar
1 c blackberries
3 -4 Tbsp. milk

Directions
Preheat oven 400*.
Cut shortening into flour mixture with a pastry blender or food processor, coarse mix.
Place blended dough in a bowl and toss in blackberries. Very gently stir in milk a tbsp. at a time. The dough will be wet. Turn on to a floured board. Sprinkle hands and board with flour, turn dough gently 4 – 5 times. Pat out and cut into the size biscuit you like. Place on a greased cookie sheet, leaving space between each biscuit. Bake in preheated oven 15- 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve immediately. If there are any left, biscuits are best reheated in the oven.

Almost as good as blackberry cobbler!

3 thoughts on “Picking Time

  1. I can’t wait to go Blackberry picking, but here in the UK they are not ripe until at least early/middle of August. This year they are doing really well from all the rain we had during the Spring, so I may just go ahead and try your recipe.

    Like

  2. Meredith, those ‘chiggers’ look like ticks. We get them here and they are quite poisonous. We don’t get any wild berries here, though, it’s too hot for berries. Good story and recipe. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

