Won’t Back Down

Susan Reed delivers a poem of strength and courage in the face of inequality. Speak up, speak out.

Focal Breeze

630px-Balance_ordinaire Photo Credits: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Balance_ordinaire.jpg

Won’t Back Down

In the face of inequality,

Standing firm to confront –

To fight the dichotomy

Unexpectedly, quite blunt.

Words spoken, the boss sneers,

“She’s fast at productivity,

Can’t you act more like your peers?”

Words spoke, cease my activity.

Dropping my work, I turn around

The woman I see, hurt too much to bear.

Boss praising me, still won’t back down,

“Never again, will you use me to compare.”

Glares in her direction,

His smirk now fading.

Upon closer inspection,

The lady is ailing.

© Susan Reed


Did you know today is Blog Action Day? Join bloggers from around the world and write a post about what inequality means to you. Have you ever encountered it in your daily life?

This one particular instance is one that I still remember when I worked at a grocery store in the dairy department. I was in…

View original post 97 more words

Leave a Reply

