They shall grow not old …

Claudette speaks for many of us.

Ceenoa

Anzac Day.

I was trying to write something about this, but the words could not capture the shiver I get inside, the incipient tears trembling on the verge of falling when I say these words:

“They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.”       ~ Laurence Binyon

Although those words were written back in 1914, specifically about WW1, they mean more to me than that.  For over a decade, as my first employment, I worked with the Defence Department.  I worked alongside friends and colleagues who might one day be encapsulated by those words.   I remember the worry that I felt at the thought someone I knew might have to go to war, and that stays with me to this…

View original post 183 more words

Leave a Reply

