Healthy Version of Southern Fried Chicken with Peaches and Biscuits

Forget Colonel Sanders, no one could fry chicken like my mom. When I had a family of 3 boy’s with man-size appetites, they claimed the same about my fried chicken. You know southerners fry everything, even dill pickles. Now I look for healthier versions of my favorite recipes, along with ease to make, serve and clean up.

½ cup of all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon paprika
2 ½ -3 pounds of chicken

Mix flour and spices together in a paper bag. Drop chicken in 2 pieces at a time and shake until well coated.

Heat oven to 425°F. Add 2 tablespoons olive oil to a 15 x 10 x 1 pan. Place the coated chicken skin side down in the pan. Bake 35 minutes.

While chicken is baking prepare biscuits. You can find my grandma’s biscuit recipe here along with a family traditional breakfast treat, chocolate gravy.

Turn chicken, pushing pieces to one side of pan. Drop dough by 8 (1/4-cup) spoonful’s into pan in single layer next to chicken. Carefully place 1 can of peaches in and around the biscuits (you can use fresh or frozen peaches as well.) Bake about 15 minutes longer or until biscuits are light golden brown and juice of chicken is clear when thickest part is pierced.

6 thoughts on “Healthy Version of Southern Fried Chicken with Peaches and Biscuits

  1. Got my mouth watering, Meredith : one question – what type of chicken pieces do you use? Bone removed or not, breast, leg, or thigh – or does it make no difference?

    Like

  2. my gosh, this sounds simply divine! i love fried chicken, and this sounds absolutely amazing! maybe i’ll try it out for my home ec class ^^

    Like

Leave a comment